Suvarna - EN


During the Mauryan Period, the punch-marked coins called Rūpyārūpa, which was same as Kārṣāpaṇa or Kahāpana or Prati or Tangka, was made of alloy of silver (11 parts), copper (4 parts) and any other metal or metals (1 part).

The early indigenous Indian coins were called Suvarṇa (made of gold), Purāṇa or Dhārana (made of silver) and Kārṣāpaṇa (made of copper).


Go To Shop